去年年底,我们结束了第二次工作坊之旅。 在三个月的时间里,我们从阿尔伯克基(Albuquerque)到圣地亚哥(San Diego),然后向北朝西雅图(西雅图),并穿过中西部进入威斯康星州(Wisconsin),一共有21个站点。 在西部旅行中,我们想了解社区所面临的独特灾难,他们已经汲取的教训,并探索基层网络如何在所谓的美国范围内传递资源,信息和故事。 点击这里 阅读我们对秋季之旅的思考。

我们在游览期间在奇科访问的社区成员以北谷互助会的名义对大火做出了回应。 为了跟上他们在做什么,请检查他们的 脸书页面。 与此同时, 面具奥克兰, 805 Undocufund以及其他组织也正在推动基于团结的自治灾难救助运动。

对讲习班的内容感兴趣,但是无法进入我们的停留站之一,还是想在自己的社区举办讲习班? 阅读我们的 便利指南.

12月,在迈克尔飓风过后,我们在巴拿马城亲密地亲身体验了一个非营利性工业园区,当时非营利组织接管了营地幸存者和所创造的工人,从而使帐篷城市居民被驱逐出境。 要了解有关该系列事件的更多信息, 点击此处详细了解。.

要阅读最近几个月的其他更新, 点击此处详细了解。.

听“面对灾难:回顾一年的自主救济”(这是对我们去年所做努力的反映,包括对佛罗伦萨飓风,迈克尔飓风的回响,对波多黎各人民的声援和越野旅行) 点击此处详细了解。.

灾难不断来临。 最近有一个 Suquamish土地上的污水泄漏 在西北, 加利福尼亚洪水龙卷风在阿拉巴马州。 在中西部和东北部 极地涡旋与大火和飓风一样, 被监禁的工人首当其冲。 对于许多人来说,政府关闭,建立边界墙,围捕和驱逐数十万移民是一场灾难,就像飓风或火灾一样具有毁灭性。

我们许多人都知道直观地进行这项工作的必要性,但是越来越多的证据表明 大型组织的救济有利于已经富裕和特权的人.

随着灾害越来越成为新的规范,我们面临着适应和增长的必要性。 在里面 Raul Zibechi的话,“这种新现实使我们的旧策略失效,并迫使我们建立“方舟”(或者每个人都想称其为自治和自卫的空间),而这些“方舟”不需要在风暴中沉船和丧命。

除了与使自己遭受痛苦有关的创伤外,我们中的一些人还面临着国家压制的额外创伤。 没有Mas Muertes(No More Deaths)志愿者因在沙漠中为移民浇水而受到罚款和缓刑。 计划于5月2019对基层人道主义援助志愿者进行更多审判,包括联邦重罪指控。

但是从积极的角度来看,越来越多的集体和个人正在将互助生存计划纳入其组织工作。 全国各地许多人通过在自己的社区中创建或扩展这些计划来纪念J20逮捕周年。 在边界, 抵抗营 正在崛起,并将土著权利与移民司法之间的点点滴滴联系起来,这一立场将变得越来越必要,因为气候科学家和移民专家预计,气候难民的数量可能会增加 上升到亿万 在不久的将来。

至于即将到来的活动,将于3月底为北/南卡罗来纳州和弗吉尼亚州生物区的人们举行一次大西洋中部地区自治灾难救援技能分享会,而且在佛罗里达州和佛罗里达州也有类似的地区聚会。俄勒冈州互助火峰会。

在艺术领域,要留意这部电影 火灾与洪水:气候变化时代的抗灾能力 数卵石,这是紧急医疗响应者中有关创伤和复原力的新戏剧。

我们偶尔仍在地面上,提供物资,医疗援助,太阳能基础设施等等。 但是在很大程度上,我们处于自我反思的时期,整合我们的经验以及更多的同志,问自己一个大问题,例如如何变得更加有效和可持续,以及为未来的灾难做准备。

我们相信我们正在共同建设。 只有运动可以帮助我们度过即将来临的气候破坏的阴影。 但是我们看到这种运动的发展感到安慰和希望。 看到如此多的灾难幸存者和像您这样的人的勇气,同情心和独创性,他们正在努力建立一个更美好的世界,并以无数种方式用手做梦。

您的奋斗中

–互助救灾

Building Arks

//Building Arks

Building Arks

At the end of last year, we wrapped up our second workshop tour. Over three months, we worked our way from Albuquerque to San Diego, then north toward Seattle, and across the midwest into Wisconsin, making a total of 21 stops. In traveling west, we wanted to understand the unique disasters that communities are facing, the lessons they’ve already learned, and explore how a grassroots network could carry resources, information, and stories across the so-called U.S. Click here to read our reflection on the Fall tour.

Community members we visited in Chico during the tour soon after responded to the fires under the name North Valley Mutual Aid. To keep up with what they are doing, check out their Facebook page. Meanwhile, Mask Oakland, 805 Undocufund, and others are also proliferating the movement for autonomous, solidarity-based disaster relief.

Interested in the content of the workshops, but couldn’t make it to one of our stops, or wanting to hold workshops in your own community? Read our Facilitation Guide.

In December, we experienced the nonprofit industrial complex up close and personal in Panama City after Hurricane Michael, when tent city residents were evicted after a nonprofit took over the encampment survivors and workers created. To read more about that series of events, click here.

To read other updates from the last couple months, click here.

To listen to “Facing the Disaster: Looking Back on a Year of Autonomous Relief” (a reflection on our efforts last year, including responses to Hurricanes Florence, Hurricane Michael, continuing solidarity with people in Puerto Rico and the cross-country tours) click here.

The disasters just keep coming. Recently there was a sewage spill on Suquamish land in the Northwest, flooding in California, and tornadoes in Alabama. And in the Midwest and North-east the Polar Vortex, as with the fires and hurricanes, had incarcerated workers bearing the brunt of the extreme weather. For many, the government shutdown, creation of a border wall, and roundup and deportation of hundreds of thousands of immigrants is a disaster every bit as devastating as a hurricane or fire.

Many of us know the need for this work intuitively, but there is ever growing evidence that relief by large organizations favors the already wealthy and privileged.

As disasters become more and more the new norm, we face the necessity for adaptation and growth. In the words of Raul Zibechi, “This new reality disables our old strategies and forces us to build “arks” (or however each one wants to call the spaces of autonomy and self-defense) that we need to not shipwreck and die in the storm”.

In addition to trauma related to exposing oneself to suffering, some of us face the added trauma of state repression. No Mas Muertes (No More Deaths) volunteers have been given fines and probation for putting water in the desert for migrants. More trials for the grassroots humanitarian aid volunteers, including federal felony charges, are scheduled for May 2019.

But on a positive note, more and more collectives and individuals are integrating mutual aid survival programs into their organizing efforts. Many people across the country marked the anniversary of the J20 arrests by creating or expanding these programs in their home communities. On the border, resistance camps are springing up and connecting the dots between indigenous rights, and migrant justice, a position that will become ever more necessary since climate scientists and migration experts expect the number of climate refugees to potentially rise to hundreds of millions in the not so distant future.

As for upcoming events, a regional Mid-Atlantic autonomous disaster relief skillshare gathering will be held at the end of March for folks in the North/South Carolina and Virginia bioregion, and there are whispers of a similar regional gathering in Florida as well as a Mutual Aid Fire Summit in Oregon.

In the realm of art, be on the lookout for the film Fire and Flood: Queer Resilience in the Era of Climate Change, and Counting Pebbles, a new play about trauma and resilience among emergency medical responders.

We are sporadically still on the ground, responding with supplies, medical assistance, solar infrastructure, and more. But to a large extent, we are in a period of self-reflection, integrating our experiences as well as more comrades, asking ourselves big questions such as how to be more effective and sustainable, and skilling up in preparation for future disasters.

We believe in what we are building together. Only a movement of movements can help us survive the spectre of climate devastation that looms on the horizon. But we find solace and hope in seeing this movement of movements grow. And in seeing the courage, compassion, and ingenuity of so many disaster survivors and people like you who are doing the work of building a better world and dreaming with your hands in countless ways.

Yours in struggle,

–    Mutual Aid Disaster Relief

2019-03-13T13:20:08-04:00March 13th, 2019|Updates|