书籍

  • 根据屡获殊荣的作家丽贝卡·索尔尼特(Rebecca Solnit)的说法,关于灾难的最令人震惊的事情不仅在于有如此多的人来参加这一盛会,而且他们乐于这样做。 那种喜悦表明,人们通常对灾难,社区提供的有目的性和有意义的工作没有得到满足。

  • 卡特里娜飓风过后,当新奥尔良的堤防和政府都倒闭时,无政府主义者启发的“共同地面集体”得以建立,以填补这一空白。 他们以“团结而不是慈善”为座右铭,努力从下方创造力量-建立自治项目,计划和自给自足的空间,例如卫生所和邻里集会,同时还支持社区自卫自灭,免受白民兵和警察的残暴对待,非法拆除房屋和驱逐房屋。

  • 自己决定

    一部选集通过观看当代自治,直接民主空间及其现实世界困境的例子,探索了这种“空中自由感”

  • 灾难与抵抗

    “多年来,塞思·托博曼(Seth Tobocman)一直在为我们所有人承担权力。他也没有放慢脚步,请检查本册的内容。” —哈维·佩卡(Harvey Pekar),漫画大师,音乐和书籍[...]

  • 灾难已成为大生意。 最畅销的记者安东尼·洛文斯坦(Antony Loewenstein)穿越阿富汗,巴基斯坦,海地,巴布亚新几内亚,美国,英国,希腊和澳大利亚,见证了灾难资本主义的现实。 他发现了公司如何在私有化拘留所,军事化的私人保安,援助暴利和破坏性采矿等隐蔽世界中利用有组织的苦难来获利。

  • 一个世纪以前,受进步时代信念鼓舞的政府开始承担起更大的责任,以保护和营救公民。 然而,在美国两大灾难的后果-加拿大边境地区——1914年的塞勒姆大火和1917年的哈利法克斯爆炸-使工人阶级幸存者求助于朋友,邻居,同事和家庭成员寻求援助和援助。

  • 生命受困

    哈维尔·塞思内斯·卡斯特罗(Javier Sethness-Castro)展示了来自当代气候学家的严峻新闻,同时提供了受无政府主义知识传统启发并提出批判性思想的重建构想。

  • 居住:自治指示

    我们正在建立革命自主的平台。 在气候变化和经济崩溃之中,我们正在连接一个准备生活和战斗,聚集技能,建立基础设施的人际网络。

  • 互助:进化的因素是1902年俄罗斯博物学家和无政府主义者哲学家彼得·克鲁波特金(Peter Kropotkin)的论文集。 这些文章最初发表于1890年至1896年间的英语期刊《十九世纪》,探讨了互利合作与互惠(或“互助”)在过去和现在的动物界和人类社会中的作用。

  • 英雄不再

    屡获殊荣的新闻记者约旦·弗莱厄蒂(Jordan Flaherty)将我们带入了救世主的黑暗和政治扭曲的头脑。 有见地和不为人所知,No More Heros是实现社会正义和社会正义不可或缺的工具。

  • 十多年来,Naomi Klein记录了气候危机从未来威胁到紧急状况的演变。 她是第一个为现在所谓的“绿色新政”辩护的人,这是使我们的经济同时应对气候崩溃和不平等现象加剧的愿景。 在我们海洋不断上升和仇恨上升的时代,

  • 大流行团结

    在危机时期,当权力机构暴露无遗时,人们会互相求助。 大流行团结会收集来自世界各地的第一手经验

  • 长期以来,人们一直将自然灾害视为自然事件,但是随着灾害的科学,技术和社会知识变得越来越复杂,人们在灾害事件中所扮演的角色也越来越明显。 地震发生后海地的灾难和灾后恢复活动表明,社会进程如何通过权力和资源的分配,对灾害的言论和图像的使用以及构成受影响社区基础的经济,社会系统和关系,对灾害的发展产生怎样的影响。

  • 波多黎各和米拉兹

    波多黎各en micorazón诗歌。 拉丁研究。 LGBTQIA研究。 在玛丽亚飓风过波多黎各之后的几个月中,波多黎各诗人,翻译,书画家和编辑埃里克[...]

  • 欲望对决

    黑豹在新奥尔良站起来Orissa Arend 2009年19.95月可用:纸张:$ 978(1-55728-933-9-29.95)布:$ 978(1-55728-896-7-XNUMX)

  • 为家而战

    在卡特里娜飓风破坏之后,新奥尔良因美国城市的重塑而成为零地标,城市规划师,电影明星,无政府主义者和政治人物都在推动他们前进。

  • 内奥米·克莱因(Naomi Klein)在《震惊主义》中爆发了全球自由市场民主胜利的神话。 揭露过去四十年来世界变化的危机和战争背后的思想,金钱痕迹和人为因素,《冲击主义》是一个令人震惊的故事,讲述了美国“自由市场”政策如何通过以下方式主导世界。对受灾群众和国家的剥削。

  • 鸢尾花

    来自波多黎各的声音:飓风后的玛丽亚汇集了XNUMX位岛民的著作-活动家,艺术家和社区组织者,他们描述了破坏和造成[...]的状况

  • 爪子之战

    圣奥古斯丁天主教堂曾站在特雷姆? 新奥尔良地区已有170多年的历史了。 它作为音乐和文化中心以及精神焦点在国际上的名声和作用令人发疯[...]

  • 谎言背后

    [...]在2005年XNUMX月,成千上万的新奥尔良居民(极度贫穷,大部分是有色人种,大多数是黑人)被迫面对美国历史上最严重的“自然”灾难之一。

Books

  • When both levees and governments failed in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina, the anarchist-inspired Common Ground Collective was created to fill the void. With the motto of “Solidarity Not Charity,” they worked to create power from below—building autonomous projects, programs, and spaces of self-sufficiency like health clinics and neighborhood assemblies, while also supporting communities defending themselves from white militias and police brutality, illegal home demolitions, and evictions.

  • Deciding For Ourselves

    This anthology explores this “sense of freedom in the air,” as one piece puts it, by looking at contemporary examples of autonomous, directly democratic spaces and the real-world dilemmas they [...]

  • Disaster and Resistance

    "For years now Seth Tobocman has been taking on the powers that be for all of us. He's not slowing down either—check out the contents of this volume." —Harvey Pekar, comics guru, music and book [...]

  • Disaster has become big business. Best-selling journalist Antony Loewenstein trav­els across Afghanistan, Pakistan, Haiti, Papua New Guinea, the United States, Britain, Greece, and Australia to witness the reality of disaster capitalism. He discovers how companies cash in on or­ganized misery in a hidden world of privatized detention centers, militarized private security, aid profiteering, and destructive mining.

  • A century ago, governments buoyed by Progressive Era–beliefs began to assume greater responsibility for protecting and rescuing citizens. Yet the aftermath of two disasters in the United States–Canada borderlands--the Salem Fire of 1914 and the Halifax Explosion of 1917--saw working class survivors instead turn to friends, neighbors, coworkers, and family members for succor and aid.

    University of Illinois Press
  • Floodlines

    A People's History of community organizing in New Orleans in the years before and after Katrina.

  • Imperiled Life

    Javier Sethness-Castro presents the grim news from contemporary climatologists while providing a reconstructive vision inspired by anarchist intellectual traditions and promoting critical thought a [...]

  • Inhabit: Instructions for Autonomy

    We’re building a platform for revolutionary autonomy. Amid climate change and economic ruin, we’re connecting a network of people who are ready to live and fight, aggregate skills, build infras [...]

  • Mutual Aid: A Factor of Evolution is a 1902 essay collection by Russian naturalist and anarchist philosopher Peter Kropotkin. The essays, initially published in the English periodical The Nineteenth Century between 1890 and 1896, explore the role of mutually-beneficial cooperation and reciprocity (or "mutual aid") in the animal kingdom and human societies both past and present.

  • No More Heroes

    Award-winning journalist Jordan Flaherty brings us inside the dark and politically twisted mind of the savior. Insightful and unsparing, No More Heroes is an indispensible tool for social justice a [...]

  • For more than a decade, Naomi Klein has documented the movement of the climate crisis from future threat to a burning emergency. She has been among the first to make the case for what is now called the Green New Deal – a vision for transforming our economies to battle climate breakdown and rampant inequality at the same time. In our era of rising seas and rising hate,

  • Pandemic Solidarity

    In times of crisis, when institutions of power are laid bare, people turn to one another. Pandemic Solidarity collects firsthand experiences from around the ...

  • You hold in your hands an anthology of survival, renewal and struggle, a massive literary body collectively narrated by those impacted by the landfall and aftermaths of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, by those who took action on behalf of survivors and returning evacuees and by those who came to the disaster-stricken land in search of livelihood.

  • Natural disasters have long been seen as naturally generated events, but as scientific, technological, and social knowledge of disasters has become more sophisticated, the part that people and systems play in disaster events has become more apparent. Production of Disaster and Recovery in Post-Earthquake Haiti demonstrates how social processes impact disasters as they unfold, through the distribution of power and resources, the use of discourses and images of disaster, and the economic and social systems and relations which underlie affected communities.

  • Puerto Rico en mi corazn

    Puerto Rico en mi corazón Poetry. Latinx Studies. LGBTQIA Studies. In the months following Hurricane Maria's passage over Puerto Rico, Puerto Rican poets, translators, book artists, & editors Eric [...]

  • Showdown in Desire

    The Black Panthers Take a Stand in New Orleans Orissa Arend April 2009 Available In: Paper: $19.95 (978-1-55728-933-9) Cloth: $29.95 (978-1-55728-896-7)  

  • The Fight for Home

    After the devastation of Hurricane Katrina, New Orleans became ground zero for the reinvention of the American city, with urban planners, movie stars, anarchists, and politicians all advancing thei [...]

  • In The Shock Doctrine, Naomi Klein explodes the myth that the global free market triumphed democratically. Exposing the thinking, the money trail and the puppet strings behind the world-changing crises and wars of the last four decades, The Shock Doctrine is the gripping story of how America’s “free market” policies have come to dominate the world-- through the exploitation of disaster-shocked people and countries.

  • IRIS MORALES

    Voices from Puerto Rico: Post-Hurricane Maria brings together writings from twenty-two islanders -activists, artists, and community organizers- who describe the destruction and the conditions that [...]

  • War of the Pews

    St. Augustine Catholic Church has stood in the Trem? section of New Orleans for over 170 years. Its international fame and role as a musical and cultural center as well as a spiritual focus has mad [...]

  • What Lies Beneath

    In August 2005, thousands of New Orleans residents—overwhelmingly poor, largely people of color, the majority black—were left to face one of the worst “natural” disasters in US history on t [...]