على مدى الأشهر الثلاثة الماضية ، بدءًا من الوباء والتوسع في التمرد الحالي ، كان هناك ازدهار جميل للمساعدة المتبادلة. نمت هذه المشاريع من بذور الرعاية الجماعية الموجودة بالفعل. في الواقع ، لم يتم اختراع "المساعدة المتبادلة" من قبل المنظرين الاجتماعيين الراديكاليين ، حتى لو أعطى الجغرافي الأناركي بيتر كروبوتكين اسمًا لهذا السعي في كتابه عام 1902 "المساعدة المتبادلة: عامل تطور". لقد كانت ممارسة حية تمتد عبر قرون ، لأن التعاون المتبادل والمساواة والتطوعي يعمل ، وهو بالضبط وجهة نظر كروبوتكين. في الواقع ، تسمح لنا المساعدة المتبادلة بتزويد بعضنا البعض بالحياة - ليس فقط من أجل البقاء ، ولكن بشكل حاسم ، من أجل الازدهار - مقابل الهياكل الكارثية للعنف والموت التي تواجه الآن تحديات شديدة.

المثير للدهشة ، بفضل المقاومة النارية في الشوارع في وقت متأخر ، نرى العالم القديم يبدأ في الانهيار بشكل أسرع مما كان يتصور أي منا. في أنقاض المناطق المدمرة والسيارات الشرطية المحترقة ، يستخدم الناس أشكالًا خيالية من المساعدة المتبادلة لرعاية بعضهم البعض بطرق وعلى نطاق لا يمكن تصوره أيضًا قبل بضعة أشهر فقط. وهي ليست فقط في عدد قليل من المدن الكبيرة الراديكالية بالفعل. هذه الانتفاضة والمساعدات المتبادلة الناشئة حولها تحدث في كل مكان ، في البلدان المتوسطة والضواحي والقرى والمناطق الريفية والمناطق الريفية ، وهناك أيضًا ، المساعدة المتبادلة هي المفتاح.

لكن ليست كل الأماكن متساوية. عدد قليل من المدن والمجتمعات في جزيرة ترتل - سواء على سبيل المثال ، لأنها في قلب الانتفاضة ، أو في دائرة الضوء الإعلامي ، أو لديها بالفعل الكثير من البنية التحتية الراديكالية - لديها كميات كبيرة بشكل غير متناسب من قوة الناس والمواد والأموال . البعض الآخر ليس لديهم شيء.

لحسن الحظ ، جزء من جمال المساعدة المتبادلة هو هيكلها الجذري ، مما يسمح لها بالنمو بشكل مستمر وأفقيا لدعم الإمكانيات الجديدة المستمرة للتضامن الاجتماعي والكرامة والحرية. يمكننا أن ننمي حساسيتنا غير الهرمية من خلال أن نصبح أكثر تكافلًا وتعاونًا - التواصل والمشاركة عبر المسافة.

نريد تشجيع جميع المساحات والمشروعات والنضالات والحركات الاجتماعية المنظمة ذاتيًا على إعادة توزيع الوفرة الجماعية للمساعدة المتبادلة بشكل جذري خارج مناطقنا الجغرافية المباشرة ، وبالتالي أيضًا تنمية علاقات أقوى وحتى روابط حب في هذا الوقت الذي يتسم بالكثير من الوعود. هل لديك أكثر مما حلمت به ، على سبيل المثال ، في المستلزمات الطبية وصناديق الكفالة ، لأخذ مثالين فقط؟ ماذا عن إيجاد مجتمعات في منطقتك أو نظامك البيئي تفتقر إلى أحدهما أو كليهما ، وإعادة إرسال بعض منها إليهم؟ هل أنت في بلدة صغيرة تحتاج إلى إمدادات طبية وصناديق إنقاذ ، ومع ذلك لا أحد خارج مجتمعك يعرف ذلك؟ كيف يمكنك "الاعتناء والعناية" بشكل أفضل بطريقة لا تتوقف عند "الحدود" لمدينتك الكبيرة؟

من جانبنا ، يسر منظمة الإغاثة المتبادلة في حالات الكوارث (MADR) ربط الأشخاص والمساعدات المتبادلة كلما أمكن ذلك. إذا كنت جزءًا من جهود مساعدة متبادلة صغيرة ناشئة تواجه صعوبة في تلبية احتياجات البقاء للأشخاص في مجتمعك ، فالرجاء التواصل معنا للحصول على دعم ودعم على [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

لذا ، دعونا ننتقل إلى بعضنا البعض ، على نطاق واسع ، ونسأل ، "ماذا تريد أن تحصل عليه؟" "ماذا يمكنني أن أهديك؟" (أو "إليك ما يمكنني تقديمه لك!)" و "كيف يمكننا أن نجد بعضنا البعض ونساعد بعضنا البعض ، أيها الصديق؟"

Over the past three months, starting with the pandemic and expanding into the current rebellion, there has been a beautiful flowering of mutual aid. These projects grew from the seeds of already-existing collective care. Indeed, “mutual aid” wasn’t invented by radical social theorists, even if anarchist geographer Peter Kropotkin gave name to this striving in his 1902 book Mutual Aid: A Factor of Evolution. It has been a lived practice stretching across centuries, because reciprocal, egalitarian, voluntaristic cooperation works, which was exactly Kropotkin’s point. Mutual aid, in fact, allows us to supply each other with life—not merely to survive, but crucially, to thrive—versus the disastrous structures of violence and death that are now being so powerfully challenged.

Astonishingly, thanks to the fiery resistance on the streets of late, we’re seeing the old world begin to crumble faster than any of us could have imagined. In the rubble of destroyed precincts and burned-out cop cars, people are using imaginative forms of mutual aid to take good care of each other in ways and on a scale also unimaginable just a couple long months ago. And it’s not just in a few big, already-radical cities. This uprising and the mutual aid springing up around it are happening everywhere, in midsize to small towns, suburbs and villages, and rural areas and regions, and there too, mutual aid is key.

Yet not all places are equal. A few cities and communities across Turtle Island—whether, say, because they are at the heart of the uprising, are in the media spotlight, or already had a lot of radical infrastructure—have disproportionately big amounts of people power, materials, and money. Others have little to none.

Happily, part of the beauty of mutual aid is its rhizomatic structure, allowing it to grow continuously and horizontally so as to support continual new possibilities of social solidarity, dignity, and freedom. We can grow our non-hierarchical sensibility by becoming more interdependent, more cooperative—connecting and sharing across distance.

We want to encourage all self-organized spaces, projects, social struggles, and movements to radically redistribute our collective abundance of mutual aid beyond our immediate geographies, and thus also cultivate stronger relationships and even bonds of love in this time of so much promise. Do you have more than you ever dreamed of, for instance, in your medic supplies and bail funds, to take just two examples? How about finding communities in your region or ecosystem that lack one or both, and regifting some of it to them? Are you in a tiny town that needs medic supplies and bail funds, and yet nobody outside your community knows that? How can you better “take care, give care” in a way that doesn’t stop at the “borders” to your big city?

For our part, Mutual Aid Disaster Relief (MADR) is happy to connect folx and mutual aid whenever possible. If you’re part of a small, emergent mutual aid effort that is having difficulty meeting the survival needs of people in your community, please reach out to us for backup and support at [email protected]

So let’s turn to each other, far and wide, and ask, “What would you like to receive?” “What could I gift you?” (or, “Here’s what I could gift you!”), and “How can we better find and mutually aid each other, friend?”