在过去的三个月中,从大流行开始,一直扩展到目前的叛乱,互助活动已经开花了。 这些项目源于已经存在的集体护理的种子。 的确,激进的社会理论家并不是发明“互助”的,即使无政府主义者地理学家彼得·克罗波特金(Peter Kropotkin)在1902年的著作《互助:进化的因素》中也为此做出了贡献。 跨世纪以来,这一直是一种实践,因为相互,平等,自愿合作是有效的,这正是克鲁泡特金的观点。 实际上,互助使我们能够彼此提供生命,不仅是生存之本,而且至关重要的是要蓬勃发展,而现在正遭受如此严峻挑战的灾难性暴力和死亡结构。

令人惊讶的是,由于最近大街上的猛烈抵抗,我们看到旧世界开始崩溃的速度超过了我们任何人的想象。 在毁坏的区域和烧毁的警车的瓦砾中,人们正在使用想象力的互助形式,相互照料,彼此照顾,这种方式和方式在几个月前还无法想象。 而且不仅仅在一些已经激进的大城市中。 这种起义和互助在各地蔓延,从中型到小城镇,郊区和乡村以及农村地区和地区,互助也是关键。

然而,并非所有地方都是平等的。 整个海龟岛上的一些城市和社区-无论是因为它们处于起义的中心,还是在媒体关注的焦点上,或者已经拥有大量激进的基础设施-拥有大量的人力,物力和金钱。 其他人几乎没有。

令人欣慰的是,互助的美丽之处在于其根际结构,使其可以连续和水平地增长,从而为社会团结,尊严和自由提供了不断的新可能性。 通过变得更加相互依存,更加合作—跨距离连接和共享,我们可以提高非等级敏感性。

我们希望鼓励所有自组织的空间,项目,社会斗争和运动,从根本上重新分配我们共同的互助集体的丰富资源,从而在这个充满希望的时代中建立更牢固的关系,甚至建立爱的纽带。 仅举两个例子,您是否拥有比梦dream以求的更多东西,例如在医疗用品和保释金中? 如何在您所在的地区或生态系统中找到一个或两个都缺少的社区,并将其中的一部分留给他们呢? 您是否在一个需要医疗用品和保释金的小镇上,而您社区之外的人都不知道吗? 您如何更好地“保重,保重”,而又不止步于大城市的“边界”?

就我们而言,互助灾难救济(MADR)乐于在可能的情况下将民间社会和互助联系起来。 如果您属于小规模的紧急互助工作的一部分,而该工作难以满足社区中人们的生存需求,请与我们联系以寻求支持和支持 [EMAIL PROTECTED]

因此,让我们远距离相处,问:“您想收到什么?” “我能给你什么礼物?” (或者,“这是我能给您的礼物!”)和“我们如何更好地找到彼此并互相帮助的朋友?”

Over the past three months, starting with the pandemic and expanding into the current rebellion, there has been a beautiful flowering of mutual aid. These projects grew from the seeds of already-existing collective care. Indeed, “mutual aid” wasn’t invented by radical social theorists, even if anarchist geographer Peter Kropotkin gave name to this striving in his 1902 book Mutual Aid: A Factor of Evolution. It has been a lived practice stretching across centuries, because reciprocal, egalitarian, voluntaristic cooperation works, which was exactly Kropotkin’s point. Mutual aid, in fact, allows us to supply each other with life—not merely to survive, but crucially, to thrive—versus the disastrous structures of violence and death that are now being so powerfully challenged.

Astonishingly, thanks to the fiery resistance on the streets of late, we’re seeing the old world begin to crumble faster than any of us could have imagined. In the rubble of destroyed precincts and burned-out cop cars, people are using imaginative forms of mutual aid to take good care of each other in ways and on a scale also unimaginable just a couple long months ago. And it’s not just in a few big, already-radical cities. This uprising and the mutual aid springing up around it are happening everywhere, in midsize to small towns, suburbs and villages, and rural areas and regions, and there too, mutual aid is key.

Yet not all places are equal. A few cities and communities across Turtle Island—whether, say, because they are at the heart of the uprising, are in the media spotlight, or already had a lot of radical infrastructure—have disproportionately big amounts of people power, materials, and money. Others have little to none.

Happily, part of the beauty of mutual aid is its rhizomatic structure, allowing it to grow continuously and horizontally so as to support continual new possibilities of social solidarity, dignity, and freedom. We can grow our non-hierarchical sensibility by becoming more interdependent, more cooperative—connecting and sharing across distance.

We want to encourage all self-organized spaces, projects, social struggles, and movements to radically redistribute our collective abundance of mutual aid beyond our immediate geographies, and thus also cultivate stronger relationships and even bonds of love in this time of so much promise. Do you have more than you ever dreamed of, for instance, in your medic supplies and bail funds, to take just two examples? How about finding communities in your region or ecosystem that lack one or both, and regifting some of it to them? Are you in a tiny town that needs medic supplies and bail funds, and yet nobody outside your community knows that? How can you better “take care, give care” in a way that doesn’t stop at the “borders” to your big city?

For our part, Mutual Aid Disaster Relief (MADR) is happy to connect folx and mutual aid whenever possible. If you’re part of a small, emergent mutual aid effort that is having difficulty meeting the survival needs of people in your community, please reach out to us for backup and support at [email protected]

So let’s turn to each other, far and wide, and ask, “What would you like to receive?” “What could I gift you?” (or, “Here’s what I could gift you!”), and “How can we better find and mutually aid each other, friend?”