"نحافظ على بعضنا البعض بأمان" بقلم مونيكا ترينيداد

بينما نحزن على الخسارة في كل مكان حولنا ، نجد في الوقت نفسه ثباتًا في عالم يزدهر فجأة مع الآلاف والآلاف من المشاريع والأفكار والعلاقات القائمة على المساعدة المتبادلة. لقد رأينا الكثير من قوائم الموارد الملهمة التي تشارك في الخدمات اللوجستية لكيفية الاستجابة لـ COVID19 بمساعدة متبادلة ؛ كيفية التواصل مع الجيران وبدء برامج توزيع الطعام وتنظيم إضرابات الإيجار.

نريد أن نشجع الأشخاص الجدد على التنظيم القائم على المساعدة المتبادلة لعدم تقييد فهمهم للمفهوم على أنه مجرد نمو وجمع وتقاسم الفاكهة مع جيراننا. على الرغم من أن هذا مذهل وجميل في حد ذاته ، إلا أن عمل مساعدتنا المتبادلة يكون له معنى في قدرته على زيادة قوة المجتمع ومستدام في قدرته على الصمود في وجه ما سيواجهه حتمًا ، إلا أن جهودنا تحتاج إلى جذور قوية. نحن بحاجة إلى النمو المتشابك مع بعضنا البعض والارتباط الوثيق بالنمو القديم الذي جاء قبل هذه الأزمة ورؤى العالم الذي ننمو تجاهه. نحن بحاجة إلى تطوير هذه الجذور بنية واعية ورعاية.

في هذا المنشور ، نحن نشارك الأفكار ، والإلهام ، والموارد لوضع جهودنا الحالية في سياق ما بعد أزمة COVID19 مع تغذية فهم أعمق لما يعنيه أن يكون هذا العمل متجذرًا بعمق في التربة الخصبة للمساعدة المتبادلة.

إذا كان لديك شيء تريد رؤيته يضاف إلى قائمة الموارد هذه ، فقم بإرسال بريد إلكتروني إلينا على [البريد الإلكتروني محمي].


تأملات

بعض التأملات حول معنى المساعدة المتبادلة في سياق عملنا التحرري:

  • المساعدة المتبادلة هي طريقة طبيعية نتجاوب فيها مع الأزمة وجزء من حالتنا الطبيعية كبشر ، لكن تاريخًا طويلًا من الاستعمار والرسملة جعلنا نعتني عمداً ونخيم قدرتنا على رعاية بعضنا البعض بشكل يومي. لدينا الكثير من العمل الشاق للقيام به من أجل إنهاء استعمار أنفسنا والتخلص من العنصرية والتقليدية والنظام الأبوي ورهاب المثلية ورهاب المتحولين جنسيًا التي قسمتنا عن رغبتنا الطبيعية في رعاية بعضنا البعض.
  • يجب أن تكون المساعدة المتبادلة فعل مقاومة. إن قدرتنا على رعاية بعضنا البعض تشكل تهديدًا لحاجة الأنظمة السائدة إلى الاعتماد على وجودها. إن مساعدة جارك على المدى القصير شيء واحد. إن إنشاء عالم والدفاع عنه بناءً على هذا المبدأ هو أمر آخر. كما يثبت العديد من الأمثلة التاريخية ، فإن مشاريع المساعدة المتبادلة القوية قد يتم تخريبها في نهاية المطاف أو اختيارها من قبل أولئك الذين يسعون للحفاظ على السيطرة ؛ يشمل الدولة والرأسماليين والمجمع الصناعي غير الربحي. في أزمة COVID19 ، نراقب أيضًا السياسيين ويتناول التيار الرئيسي مصطلح "المساعدة المتبادلة" دون ذكر كيف يساهمون في نظام يتطلب اضطرارنا للدفاع عن ممارساته. أولئك الذين في السلطة لأنها تفتقر إلى القدرة على الحفاظ على السيطرة بأنفسهم. لكن خلال هذا الوقت ، لا يمكننا أن نهدف فقط إلى بناء مجتمع ، ولكن إلى بناء مجتمع موجه في معارضة واعية لأنظمة السلطة التي ستأتي بعدنا عندما يستعيدون قدمهم.
  • المساعدة المتبادلة ليست بدعة جديدة ، ولدينا جميعًا الكثير لنتعلمه من المجتمعات المضطهدة منذ فترة طويلة الذين غالبًا ما يكون لديهم خبرة أكثر عيشًا مع المفهوم في الممارسة من المستوطنين ؛ كيف استطاعت هذه المجتمعات البقاء على قيد الحياة لمئات السنين من الاستعمار. من الخطأ بشكل لا يصدق محاولة طرح مشروع جديد ساخن للمساعدة المتبادلة في مجتمع مضطهد دون الاستماع والسعي للتعلم من تجربة هذا المجتمع وحكمته.
  • تختلف المساعدة المتبادلة عن الصدقة في أنها تسعى إلى تفكيك العلاقات الهرمية نحن معتادون على ذلك. إنها عملية متعددة الأبعاد ومتعددة الاتجاهات تساهم في تحرير جميع المعنيين. يجب أن ننشئ مجتمعات يمكنها تنظيم نفسها والتعاون في المشروعات وبناء بدائل أفقياً. تفتح المساعدة المتبادلة الطرق أمام الناس للمشاركة في مشاركة حقيقية ومفيدة حتى لو كانوا يتلقون المساعدة أيضًا. هذا التفكيك في التسلسل الهرمي يمثل تحديا. يتطلب منا أن نكون ضعفاء وفضوليين بشأن الطريقة التي نقترب بها من عملنا. يتطلب بناء الثقة.
  • لا يكفي أن نقول فقط إن المجموعة منظمة منظمة أفقيًا ومبنية على المساعدة المتبادلة. علينا أن نأخذ الوقت والجهد لتطوير مبادئنا، وتعلم ونقد ما يقصدونه في الممارسة العملية ، ومشاركتهم مع الوافدين الجدد ، وبناء رؤية جماعية للعالم الذي ننشئه. المساعدة المتبادلة ، الأفقية ، والتضامن هي مفاهيم مجردة قد يكون من الصعب تحقيقها ؛ في كثير من الأحيان ليس لدينا العديد من الأمثلة في متناول اليد ، ويمكن أن تبدو مختلفة لكل مجتمع. قد يكون من الصعب تحديد أولويات هذا المبدأ وبناء الرؤية في الأزمات لأنه يبدو وكأنك تتاجر في الطاقة التي يمكن أن تنفق على تلبية احتياجات الناس غير الملباة للبقاء. لكن هذا عمل أساسي لمطابقة ما نبشر به مع ما نبنيه بالفعل.
  • يجب أن نخطط للحفاظ على عمل المساعدة المتبادلة لدينا على المدى الطويل. ستظل مجتمعاتنا بحاجة إلى وقت طويل جدًا بعد انتهاء هذا الوباء ، ولا يزال أمامنا بعض من أهم الأعمال التي يتعين علينا القيام بها. يمكن أن يستغرق المجتمع الهادف والجذري وقتًا وصبرًا لتطوير الثقة والمساءلة اللازمة. يجب أن نخلق ثقافات الاستدامة والرعاية الذاتية والجماعية وأن نناوب الأدوار والمسؤوليات عندما يكون ذلك ممكنًا حتى نتمكن من التواصل مع بعضنا البعض.

إلهام

حفنة من الأفكار الملهمة نسمع مجموعات تنفذ في مشاريعهم ومجتمعاتهم الجديدة:

  • تشكيل نقاط الوحدة / المبادئ الإرشادية للمجموعة وعقد اجتماعات تمهيدية افتراضية للمتطوعين الجدد لمناقشتها وكيف يريدون أن تبدو عليهم في الممارسة. إقامة اجتماعات افتراضية منتظمة وندوات عبر الإنترنت لمجمعات الأحياء لاستكشاف مفاهيم المساعدة المتبادلة والأفق والتضامن. عقد مجموعات القراءة ، واستضافة الأشخاص من ذوي الخبرة في اتخاذ القرار بالإجماع ، وكسر المشاكل مع الهياكل والعادات الهرمية ، والعصف الذهني حول العالم الذي يريد المجتمع إنشاءه والتهديدات التي يواجهها هذا العالم الجديد.
  • بناء الثقافة بالقدوة من خلال بدء الاجتماعات مع: تسجيلات الوصول ، ومناقشة موقوتة حول كيف يعاني الناس من أي ديناميكيات للسلطة ، والمطالبة بعصف ذهني لما يعنيه الإرهاق للناس وكيف يتأقلمون ، والمطالبات لاستكشاف الروابط التي يثيرها الناس ، الأشياء التي أدركوها في ذلك الأسبوع ، ما كان يبعث على الارتياح بالنسبة لهم.
  • توصيل الأموال حيثما أمكن لشراء البنية التحتية للمجتمع.
  • بناء المشاعات والرؤية لعالمنا الجديد من خلال مشاركة الفن والدعاية في الأماكن العامة: تسقط اللافتة في الأحياء ، وتعلق الأوراق للدلالة على تلك الإيجار اللافتة ، والعلامات التخريبية المعلقة في نوافذ الناس وعلى أعمدة الهاتف ، والجداريات المرسومة ، يجري تنسيق عروض ضوضاء السيارة.
  • كبديل للتعامل مع إيجاد طرق يمكن للمتطوعين الجدد أن يساهموا بها عندما يسألون "كيف يمكنني المساعدة؟" ، وتشجيع تطوير استقلاليتهم من خلال سؤالهم "كيف تريد المساعدة؟ ما هي مهاراتك واهتماماتك؟ " (هذه الرغبة في تحديد المهارات مفيد جدا.)

الموارد

بعض الموارد التي قد تساعدك أنت ومجتمعك على تطوير جذورك في المساعدة المتبادلة:

حول المساعدة المتبادلة:

أمثلة على مشاريع المساعدة المتبادلة القوية في التاريخ:

الدروس المستفادة من تنظيم مشاريع المساعدة المتبادلة:

موارد لبناء المجتمع والمجموعات:

مبادئ لتوجيه عملنا:

“We Keep each Other Safe” by Monica Trinidad

While grieving the loss all around us, we’re simultaneously finding fortitude in a world suddenly in bloom with thousands upon thousands of mutual aid-based projects, ideas, and connections. We’ve seen so many inspiring resource lists sharing the logistics of how to respond to COVID19 with mutual aid; how to get neighbors in touch, start food distribution programs, and organize rent strikes.

We want to encourage people new to mutual aid-based organizing to not limit their understanding of the concept as merely the growth, gathering, and sharing of fruits with our neighbors. Although this is amazing and beautiful in itself, for our mutual aid work to be meaningful in its capacity to increase community power and sustainable in its ability to withstand what will inevitably challenge it, our efforts need strong roots. We need to grow intertwined with each other and deeply connected to the old growth that came before this crisis and to visions of the world we’re growing towards. We need to develop these roots with conscious intention and care.

In this post, we’re sharing reflections, inspiration, and resources to contextualize our current efforts beyond the COVID19 crisis while nourishing deeper understandings of what it means for this work to be deeply rooted in mutual aid’s fertile soil.

If you have something you’d like to see added to this resource list, shoot us an email at [email protected].


 

REFLECTIONS

A few reflections on what mutual aid means in the context of our liberatory work:

  • Mutual aid is a natural way that we respond to crisis and part of our natural state as humans, but a long history of colonization and capitalization has intentionally calloused us and clouded our ability to take care of each other on a daily basis. We have a lot of hard work to do to decolonize ourselves and weed out the racism, classism, patriarchy, homophobia, and transphobia that have divided us from our natural desire to care for one another.
  • Mutual aid must be an act of resistance. Our ability to take care of one another is a threat to the dominant systems’ need for dependence for its existence. It’s one thing to help your neighbor out on a short-term basis. It’s another to create and defend a world based on this principle. As many historical examples prove, powerful mutual aid projects may eventually be sabotaged or co-opted by those seeking to maintain control; that includes the State, the capitalists, and the non-profit industrial complex. In the COVID19 crisis, we’re also watching politicians and the mainstream take up the term “mutual aid” without mentioning how they contribute to a system that necessitates our having to defend its practice.For now our mutual aid work is likely of service to those in power as they lack the ability to maintain control themselves. But during this time, we can’t just aim to build community, but to build community that is oriented in conscious opposition to the systems of authority that will come after us when they’ve regained their footing.
  • Mutual aid is not a new fad, and we all have a lot to learn from long-oppressed communities who often have far more lived experience with the concept in practice than settlers do; it is how these communities have survived for hundreds of years of colonization. It is incredibly misguided to try rolling out a hot new mutual aid project in an oppressed community without listening and seeking to learn from that community’s experience and wisdom.
  • Mutual aid is different from charity in that it strives to deconstruct the hierarchical relationships we are so in the habit of acting through. It is a multidimensional and multidirectional process that contributes to the liberation of everyone involved. We must create communities that can organize themselves, collaborate on projects, and build alternatives horizontally. Mutual aid opens up pathways for people to engage in meaningful, authentic participation even if they also are receiving assistance. This deconstruction of hierarchy is challenging. It requires us to be vulnerable and curious about the way we’re approaching our work. It requires trust building.
  • It’s not enough to just say a group is a horizontally organized, mutual aid-based group. We have to take time and energy to develop our principles, learn about and critique what they mean in practice, share them with newcomers, and build a collective vision for the world we’re creating. Mutual aid, horizontality, and solidarity are abstract concepts that can be difficult to actualize; we often don’t have many examples on hand to draw from, and they can look different for every community. This principle and vision building can be difficult to prioritize in crisis because it feels like you’re trading off energy that could otherwise be spent meeting people’s unmet survival needs. But this is essential work for matching what we preach with what we are actually building.
  • We must be planning to sustain our mutual aid work for the long-haul. Our communities will be in need for a very long time after this pandemic passes, and some of the most important work we have to do is still ahead. Meaningful, rooted community can take time and patience to develop the trust and accountability necessary. We must create cultures of sustainability and self and collective care and rotate roles and responsibilities when possible so that we can tap in and out for each other.

 

INSPIRATION

A handful of inspiring ideas we’re hearing groups implementing in their new projects and communities:

  • Forming points of unity/guiding principles for a group and holding virtual introductory meetings for new volunteers to discuss them and what they want them to look like in practice. Setting up regular virtual meetings and webinars for neighborhood blocks to explore the concepts of mutual aid, horizontality, and solidarity. Holding reading groups, hosting people experienced with consensus decision making, breaking down the problems with hierarchical structures and habits, brainstorming about the world a community wants to create and the threats to that new world.
  • Building culture by example by starting meetings with: Capacity check-ins, timed discussion on how people are experiencing any power dynamics, prompts for brainstorming what burnout means to people and how they’re coping, prompts for exploring what connections people are excited about, things they’ve realized that week, what’s been uplifting for them.
  • Communizing funds where possible to purchase community infrastructure.
  • Building up the commons and the vision of our new world by sharing art and propaganda in public spaces: Banner drops in neighborhoods, sheets being hung to signify those rent striking, subversive signs being hung in people’s windows and on telephone poles, murals being painted, car noise demos being coordinated.
  • As an alternative to taking on the labor of finding ways new volunteers can plug in when they ask “How can I help?”, encouraging the development of their autonomy by asking them “How do you want to help? What are your skills and interests?” (This zine on identifying skills is handy too.)

 

RESOURCES

Some resources that may help you and your community develop your roots in mutual aid: 

On what mutual aid is:

Examples of powerful mutual aid projects in history:

Lessons learned organizing mutual aid projects:

Resources for building community and groups:

Principles to guide our work: