在发生玛丽亚飓风之后的两年多时间里,阿波约·穆托中心仍然是充满活力,以人为本的活泼互助和社区抵抗与复原力的典范。

在玛丽亚飓风过后,在拉斯玛丽亚斯的布卡拉波内斯社区,面对灾难,该州被迫撤退,并放弃了其领土。 飓风过了两个多星期,第一批外部援助以圣胡安的行动同盟形式出现。 与这些新朋友合作,他们成立了 康宝 (Centro de Apoyo Mutuo Bucarabones Unido)提供互助,植根于争取社会,经济,文化和环境正义的斗争。 组织者和社区成员齐心协力填补真空,重新利用前政府建筑物的空间,并满足人民的需求。

如今,CAMBU可以作为社区厨房,为当地儿童举办艺术课,提供文化活动,教育工作坊,以及急需的公共空间。

在过去的两年中,互助灾难救济与CAMBU合作,开设了一些弹出式诊所,制作有关减轻儿童创伤的教育材料以及协助官僚主义的发展。

在12th(2019)十月的周末,一个长期计划的自治基础设施项目完成了。

与CAMBU合作开展互助救灾,并获得了重要的技术和财政援助 足迹项目, 太阳村项目, 岩泉会众风帆救援队能够安装3kw光伏太阳能电池阵列,Sol-Ark逆变器/充电控制器系统和两块Simpliphi锂电池作为备用电源。 我们留在CAMBU的Sol-Ark和其他面板使我们可以在空间足够时迅速扩展到11kw太阳系。

这是一种离网太阳能组件,可以轻松扩展,并可以为互助中心提供未来几年的动力。

我们使用国际太阳能课程,将安装过程与来自Bosque Modelo的西班牙语入门级太阳能培训相结合。 此外,这些小组还通过1,200光伏面板向小型农场分发了产品,并为附近的拉里斯的阿波约·穆托中心提供了自己的屋顶太阳能系统所需的系统组件。

这次访问有助于巩固我们与这些合作伙伴组织的合作,并为未来的努力奠定了基础。 我们共同决定了整个岛上未来的安装地点,并已开始开发太阳能培训材料,以磨练我们对能力建设的关注。

CAMBU装置是阿波约·穆托中心的第三个太阳能装置,“互助救灾”已在波多黎各提供了便利。 最大的 16kw集装箱箱系统,现在仍在现在的Transformacion Comunitaria中心使用,该社区设有社区自助洗衣店,图书馆,诊所,空手道,尊巴舞,瑜伽节目,辅导以及艺术家和小型企业孵化的空间。

重大灾难发生后的瞬间至关重要。 即使在几周后,我们也经常听到社区的声音,说我们是他们所看到的第一个帮助。 但是恢复是一个长期的过程。 建立长期的有意义的支持关系并一次又一次地返回也很重要。

而且我们不想只是重建到灾难前的状态。 我们想要更多。 当我们在灯光熄灭的情况下建立电源时,我们希望持续一些。 当墙壁上有裂缝时,我们希望它扩大而不是关闭。

有时确实如此。

Over two years after Hurricane Maria, the Centros de Apoyo Mutuo are still vibrant, people-powered, living examples of mutual aid and community-based resistance and resilience.

In the community of Bucarabones in Las Marias, immediately after Hurricane Maria, the state was forced to pull back in the face of the disaster and abandoned its territory. More than two weeks after the hurricane, the first external aid showed up in the form of movement allies from San Juan. In collaboration with these new friends, they formed CAMBU (Centro de Apoyo Mutuo Bucarabones Unido) to provide mutual aid, rooted in the struggle for  social, economic, cultural, and environmental justice. Organizers and community members banded together to fill the vacuum, repurpose former government buildings, and meet the needs of the people.

Today, CAMBU serves as a community kitchen, hosts art classes for local children, provides cultural activities, educational workshops, and much need communal space. 

Mutual Aid Disaster Relief has partnered with CAMBU over the last two years with such things as pop-up clinics, creating educational materials about mitigating trauma in children, and assisting with navigating bureaucracy.

Over the weekend of October 12th, 2019, a long-planned autonomous infrastructure project was completed. 

Mutual Aid Disaster Relief in partnership with CAMBU, and with important technical and financial assistance from Footprint Project, Solar Village Project, Rock Spring Congregation, and Sail Relief Team, was able to install a 3kw photovoltaic solar array, with a Sol-Ark inverter/charge controller system, and two Simpliphi lithium batteries for backup power. The Sol-Ark and extra panels we left at CAMBU allow us to quickly expand up to an 11kw solar system when the space is ready for it.

It’s an off-grid solar package that scales up easily and can power the mutual aid center for years to come.

We combined the installation with a hands on entry-level solar training in Spanish from Bosque Modelo, using the Solar Energy International curriculum. In addition, the teams distributed over 1,200 photovoltaic panels to small farms and provided the Centro de Apoyo Mutuo in nearby Lares with the necessary system components for a rooftop solar system of their own.

The visit served to help solidify our collaboration with these partner organizations and lay the groundwork for future efforts. Together, we scoped future install locations across the island and have already begun to develop solar training materials to hone our focus on capacity-building. 

The CAMBU install is the third Centro de Apoyo Mutuo solar installation Mutual Aid Disaster Relief has helped facilitate in Puerto Rico. The largest, a 16kw container box system, is still in use at what is now the Centro de Transformacion Comunitaria, home to a community laundromat, library, clinic, karate, Zumba, and yoga programming, tutoring, and space for artists and small business incubation. 

The moments immediately after a major disaster are critical. Even weeks after, we often hear from communities that we are the first help they’d seen. But recovery is a long-term process. And it’s also important to build meaningful relationships of support long-term, and return time and again.

And we don’t want to just rebuild to the pre-disaster status quo. We want something more. When we build power while the lights are out, we want something to last. When there is a crack in the wall, we want it to widen, not close up. 

Sometimes it does.