在飓风玛丽亚登陆波多黎各的23周年纪念日后的2018,3,8天, 互助救灾 #PRRebuilds 可持续性与生态韧性 团队第三次到达了巴里奥·马里亚纳(Barrio Mariana),这是一个位于Humacao上方的小山地社区,处在面包果(pana)和月光(cañita)国家的高处。 此行的目的是在该地区实施第一个社区拥有和运营的太阳能微电网。

该微电网将为El Centro deImaginación(想象中心)提供可靠的电力,该中心现在装有太阳能自助洗衣店,为社区会议和讲习班提供了空间,包括图书馆,工具库,以及为当前正在开发和提供的当地学生社会工作者提供的办公室针对社区中更多老年人口的解决方案。 房间已被拆毁,并为志愿人员提供床铺,并计划为青年旅馆发展。 还计划允许小型企业孵化和设备共享,例如社区经营的咖啡店创意 酿造。

与互助救灾合作 BoxPower, Propoecto de Apoyo Mutuo 和其他Centro de Apoyo Mutuo来购买此太阳能微电网系统,并增强自治互助中心和社区在应对未来风暴事件时相互支持的弹性和能力。 该系统可以拆卸并重新包装到其上放置的运输容器中,以保护光伏面板在暴风雨中免受损坏。 这样可确保在暴风雨后立即重新安装能源。 该系统还包括一个发电机作为备用电源,作为附加保险。

BoxPower太阳能光伏微电网系统安装在附近的一所废弃学校中,由我们的运动朋友接管并重新利用,以提供社区需求和培训,并通过新的Imagination中心(el Centro deImaginación)安置志愿者。 这所学校以前是关闭和撤离的,是波多黎各几轮大规模学校关闭中的又一受害者,而这是另一条必须在岛上与灾难资本主义进行更大斗争的斗争和斗争。

学校于11月开始了对魔法和未充分利用的空间的翻新工作。 对于学校的翻新以及社区中心,厨房和游乐场的重建至关重要的是长期志愿者,现在是el barrio Mariana的居民。 这些盟友和那些最初与他们一同抵达的人,是首先骑自行车到达的,他们不懈地工作,以帮助居民重建中心和肠道房屋,清除杂物,协助厨房工作并帮助从种子中重新种植。 他们现在正在帮助居民在拉洛玛(La Loma)开发食用森林,并在装修后的地方帮助建立当地的丝网印刷合作社。 我们寻求这种长期的团结,以继续促进灾后以及整个重建社区和生活的长期过程。

第三回,MADR #PRRebuilds 可持续发展和生态复原力团队与Proyecto de Apoyo Mutuo的当地居民和组织者一同加入,BowPower团队在2天内指导居民完成了该系统的动手安装培训。 社区成员和合作者在培训微电网架,光伏面板安装和安装,系统布线,长期运行和维护以及如何安全拆卸和重新包装太阳能面板的培训中付出了大量的劳动发生暴风雨时将它们安装在的容器上。

如果不是集体的努力,团结和决心的达成,这一切都是不可能或没有按计划进行的。 分散和可靠的灾害响应者网络; Boricua工人的勇气和团结精神:筑路工人,电气工人; 以及波多黎各令人惊叹的轰炸机(消防员)。 到开始电网安装为止,仅24小时,它们就克服了从港口到太阳能系统马里亚纳州的延误运输,这是一台尺寸不合适的起重机,需要安全地将存储容器从一辆卡车安全地转移到另一辆卡车到篮球场安置学校; 在5小时流程结束之前,缺少一条快速的土路来将系统推向篮球场,并且从新开发的道路的泥泞痕迹中移除了两个沉重的拖车,最终将存储容器朝西南放置,没有剩余日光。 所有这一切之所以成为可能,是因为无数的普通民众通过给予他们的时间,劳动力,知识,资源,资金,以及建立在互助与团结,自治与问责,可持续性之上的更美好世界的集体愿景而表现出的团结精神。和韧性。

这是令人难以置信的惊人成就,是一天的过山车,最终以 Tostonachos 和饮料! 虽然,los bomberos仍然不喝酒,甚至没有庆祝! 他们认真奉献自己的工作和职业道德。 #BomberosdePuertoRicoSolidaridad

您可以听Proyecto de Apoyo Mutuo的Christine讲解太阳能装置, 请点击这里 (西班牙语采访)。

Mariana社区,elImaginación中心的项目以及互助运动的目的是使社区变得更加自治和更加自我维持。

从粮食主权到模块化能源生产系统以及其他适当的,可持续的技术和过程,MADR可持续设计和工程工作组致力于为灾难响应和重建过程中的独特解决方案开发自适应设计。

出于这一目的,互助灾难救济与El Barrio Mariana,Proyecto de Apoyo Mutuo和其他互助运动盟友的社区团结一致。 将可持续的,社区拥有和运营的太阳能微电网系统带到波多黎各.

在尽可能多的互助中心安装太阳能微电网,使这些集体具有增强的应变能力和自我维持能力,可以在未来的暴风雨天气中做出反应,并提供了一个能源透明性和责任制的平台,从而可以更好地了解个人和集体使用和影响,以及一种更好的自治的指南。

MADR现在正在与Huerto Feliz和Urbe Apie的盟友合作,支持卡瓜斯的El Centro de Apoyo Mutuo开发第二个社区拥有和运营的太阳能微电网。

作为互助救灾可持续设计和工程工作组的一部分,必须鼓励和支持以社区为导向的重建工作,该重建工作强调针对关键需求和基础设施(例如水和能源)的可持续,适当的技术和系统。 互助团队和工作组与社区成员共享知识和技能,与社区成员一起学习和开发解决问题的新解决方案和方法。

弹性取决于适应性和自治性。 波多黎各处于殖民主义,灾难资本主义和气候混乱的十字路口。 现在是建立我们希望看到并共同生活的世界的关键机会。 波多黎各曾经是而且一直是-人与利益之间的战场。 健康和利润; 环境正义与利润。 我们必须共同抵抗和重建。 自我可持续性,韧性,互助和团结是抵制行为。 我们可以用自组织的反制度代替现有的压迫性制度和社会机制。 而且,无需等到“革命之后”就创建它们。

Mariana社区开发的解决方案体现在Proyecto de Apoyo Mutuo的工作和愿景以及Centro de Apoyo Mutuo在整个岛屿的移动中,这是我们共同持有的愿景的切实实例,也是我们团结的种子。

希望这仅仅是更具可持续性和自主性的太阳能微电网和太阳能电池阵列的开端,以加强整个波多黎各的互助运动。 为了支持该计划以及其他类似的互助灾难救济项目和计划, 你可以在这里捐款.

人民的一切力量,

–互助救灾

(Solar) Power to the People

//(Solar) Power to the People

(Solar) Power to the People

On May 23, 2018, 3 days after the 8-month anniversary of Hurricane Maria’s landfall in Puerto Rico, Mutual Aid Disaster Relief’s #PRRebuilds Sustainability and Ecological Resilience team arrived for the third time in Barrio Mariana, a small mountain community resting above Humacao, high in breadfruit (pana) and moonshine (cañita) country.  The purpose of this trip was to implement the first community owned and operated solar micro-grid in the area.

This microgrid will provide reliable power to el Centro de Imaginación (the Imagination Center) which now houses a solar laundromat, provides spaces for community meetings and workshops, includes a library, a tool library, and offices for local student social workers currently developing and providing solutions for the community’s more elderly population. Rooms have been gutted and have been furnished with beds for volunteers, and there are plans developing for a hostel. There are also plans to allow for small business incubation and equipment sharing, such as a community run coffee shop idea that is brewing.

Mutual Aid Disaster Relief partnered with BoxPower, Proyecto de Apoyo Mutuo and other Centros de Apoyo Mutuo to purchase this solar micro-grid system and strengthen the resiliency and ability of autonomous mutual aid centers and communities to support each other when responding to future storm events. The system can be dismantled and packed back into the shipping container on which it rests to protect the photovoltaic panels from being damaged during a storm. This ensures energy can be reinstalled immediately after a storm. The system also includes a generator as a backup power supply as added insurance.

The BoxPower solar photovoltaic micro-grid system was installed at a nearby, abandoned school, taken over and repurposed by our movement friends to provide community needs and training, as well as house volunteers through the new Imagination Center (el Centro de Imaginación). The school was previously closed and vacated, another victim of one of Puerto Rico’s rounds of mass school closures — yet another front on which the larger fight against disaster capitalism on the island must be challenged and fought.

Renovation of the magical and underutilized space at the school began in November. Essential to the renovation of the school and the rebuilding of the community center, kitchen, and playground  are long-term volunteers, now residents of el barrio Mariana. First arriving by bike, these allies, and those that first arrived with them, worked tirelessly to help residents rebuild the center as well as gut homes, clear debris, assist with kitchen duties, and help restart plantings from seeds. They are now helping residents as they develop a food forest at La Loma, and are helping form a local screen-printing cooperative at the renovated space. It is this type of long-term solidarity that we seek to continue to facilitate post-disaster, and throughout the long process of rebuilding communities and lives.

Having returned for a third time, the MADR #PRRebuilds Sustainability and Ecological Resilience team joined local residents and organizers from Proyecto de Apoyo Mutuo as the BowPower team guided residents through a hands-on installation training of the system over 2 days.  Community members and collaborators did the bulk of the labor while training on construction of the microgrid frame, photovoltaic panel mounting and installation, system wiring, long-term operation and maintenance, as well as how to disassemble and repack solar panels safely back into the shipping container on which they are mounted in the event of another storm.

None of this would have been possible or happened on schedule had it not been for the collective effort, solidarity, and determination of: dedicated allies; a network of decentralized and reliable disaster responders; the grit and solidarity of boricua laborers: road construction workers, electrical workers; and the amazing bomberos (firefighters) of Puerto Rico. Together, with only 24 hours until the start of the grid installation, they overcame delayed transportation from the port to Mariana of the solar system, an inappropriately sized crane needed to safely and securely transfer the storage container from one truck to another to the basketball court of the school for placement; the lack of and rapid construction of a dirt road to drive the system onto the basketball court, and the removal of two, heavy tow-trucks from the muddy indentations of the newly developed road, and towards the end of the 5 hour process, a final placement of the storage container facing south-southwest without any remaining daylight.  All of this was also possible because of solidarity shown by countless regular folx, through the giving of their time, labor, knowledge, resources, funds, and a collective vision for a better world built on mutual aid and solidarity, autonomy and accountability, sustainability and resilience.

It was an unbelievable and amazing achievement and a rollercoaster of a day, which ended appropriately with tostonachos and a drink! Though, los bomberos still did not drink, not even to celebrate! They have serious dedication to their job and work ethic. #BomberosdePuertoRicoSolidaridad

You can listen to Christine of Proyecto de Apoyo Mutuo speak about the solar installation, by clicking here (interview in Spanish).

The aim of the Mariana community, of the projects at el Centro de Imaginación, and of the mutual aid movement is to empower communities to become more autonomous and more self-sustaining.

From food sovereignty to modular energy generation systems and other appropriate, sustainable technologies and processes, MADR sustainable design and engineering working groups seek to develop adaptive designs for unique solutions during disaster response and rebuilding.

It is with that aim that Mutual Aid Disaster Relief stands in solidarity with the community of el barrio Mariana, Proyecto de Apoyo Mutuo, and other mutual aid movement allies to bring sustainable, community owned and operated solar microgrid systems to Puerto Rico.

Installing solar microgrids at as many of the the mutual aid centers as possible, empowers these collectives with improved resilience and self-sustainability to respond during future storm events and provides a platform for energy transparency and accountability, allowing for a better understanding of individual and collective use and impacts, and a type of guide for better self-governance.

MADR is now supporting el Centro de Apoyo Mutuo in Caguas in developing a second community owned and operated solar micro-grid, in collaboration with allies at Huerto Feliz and Urbe Apie.

As part of the Mutual Aid Disaster Relief sustainable design and engineering working group, encouraging and supporting community-directed reconstruction that emphasizes sustainable, appropriate technology and systems for critical needs and infrastructure, like water and energy, is imperative.  Mutual aid teams and working groups share knowledge and skills in solidarity with community members, learning and developing new solutions and approaches to problem solving alongside community members.

Resiliency depends on adaptability and autonomy. Puerto Rico stands at a crossroads of colonialism, disaster capitalism and climate chaos. Now is a critical opportunity to build the world we want to see and live in together. Puerto Rico is and has been a battleground – between people and profit; health and profit; environmental justice and profit. We must resist and rebuild together. Self-sustainability, resilience/y, mutual aid and solidarity ARE acts of resistance. We can replace existing oppressive institutions and mechanisms of society with self-organized counter-institutions. And there is no need to wait to create them until “after the revolution”.

Mariana’s community developed solutions, embodied by the work and vision of the Proyecto de Apoyo Mutuo and the movement of Centros de Apoyo Mutuo throughout the island, is the tangible example of the vision we collectively hold, and is the seed of our solidarity.

This will hopefully be just the beginning of more sustainable and autonomous solar micro-grids and solar arrays to strengthen the movement for mutual aid throughout Puerto Rico. To support this and other similar Mutual Aid Disaster Relief projects and programs, you can donate here.

All power to the people,

–          Mutual Aid Disaster Relief

 

2018-06-05T23:09:28+00:00June 5th, 2018|Updates|