上周标志着坦帕互助灾难后爱玛融合中心的结束,圣保罗路德教会慷慨地为我们提供了这个空间。 这个空间是巧妙,可及,温暖和创意的。 就像大型的社会实验一样,集体可以自由支配创作,项目可以拉进拉出,想法繁荣起来,鼓励计划得以实现。

从囚犯写信之夜,到纪录片放映,到食物准备,从现场发出的数百个护理包,到报告发布,到工作坊,到技能分享,到小组会议,打开麦克风,彻底的歌颂练习,以及当然,在波多黎各,伊莫卡利,基斯,阿波普卡,杰克逊维尔,甚至在比利时和法国的难民团结工作中,启动了救援队,开展灾难互助。 我们用那四堵墙分解了其他墙,它起作用了。 该空间开放给无家可归的朋友洗澡,洗衣服,甚至让无家可归的夫妇度过浪漫的周年晚宴。

我们与“坦帕食物不炸弹”,“爱无国界”,“坦帕湾DSA”,“恢复正义联盟”,“黑人生命问题坦帕”,“坦帕无政府主义者黑十字”和其他解放运动共享了空间。 该空间设有免费诊所,免费图书馆,儿童游戏室,社区厨房以及供人们共享艺术和文学的开放空间。 墙上挂着革命性的Zapatista语录,肖像故事,其他支持和团结信息,以及纪念安德鲁·约瑟夫三世,梅格·佩里和阿隆索·吉伦的照片–我们在此途中迷失了人们。 该诊所治疗情绪和身体创伤,提供针灸,灵气,按摩,凉茶和tin剂,糖尿病护理,脱水治疗,并开设了许多流动诊所。

临时自治区一词的发起人哈基姆·贝(Hakim Bey)表示,这就像“不直接与国家交战的起义,是一种游击行动,其解放了一个地区(土地,时间,想象力),然后解散,这些区域的目标不是持久性或对抗性,它的消亡不是失败,而是播种的种子将被带到另一个时间和地点以重新创建。 。

目的是将这些自治区广泛地传播,使各地,不仅是在灾难中,人们可以自由地共享商品和服务,彼此之间进行深入而真实的联系,具有代理,自决和意义。选择工作,活在当下,可以自由地用头脑去想象,也可以用手和脚去想象,让我们知道更美好的世界成为可能。 这些时刻,当我们的身体被机翼及其内部和周围所有物体的可能性歌颂起来时,不必转瞬即逝。 人类的大部分历史都生活在以互助为基础的社区中,如果我们有足够的力量和勇气将我们的愿景付诸实践,我们的未来也将如此。

临时自治区的另一个例子是遍布波多黎各的12阿波约穆托中心(CAM)。 这些构成了由人民驱动的,根植于当地的恢复工作的错综复杂的网络,这些工作证明了革命性的自治不是空想,而是实际上可以自然地应对缺乏专制,国家主义的控制手段。 目前,我们正在筹集资金,以使卡瓜斯的CAM拥有自己的微电网太阳能光伏系统-这是破产者的一种自主选择,波多黎各电力管理局也许很快就会私有化。 你可以捐赠这个项目 相关信息.

我们中有些人仍在波多黎各,无论何时何地,只要有需要,我们都会为他们提供帮助,并计划在可见的将来继续这样做。 我们中有些人正忙于准备进行多国巡回演出。 并希望在接下来的几周和几个月内与你们中的许多人见面,并就如何共同推动互助运动制定战略。 要查看位置, 请访问我们的网站。 如果我们尚未到达您的城镇,我们深表歉意,并感谢您的耐心配合。 我们有太多要求无法一次满足所有要求,但我们将继续为秋天预定景点。

蒲公英在风中迷失了方向,并向一千个方向传播了种子。 我们是这些种子之一的结果。 我们知道,每个目标都是开始。 无论您走到哪里,都可以随身携带一块解放区。 无论您站在哪里,都可以成为那个地方的灵魂。

直到下一次,

Temporary Autonomous Zones

//Temporary Autonomous Zones

Temporary Autonomous Zones

Last week marked the end of our Tampa Mutual Aid Disaster Relief Post-Irma Convergence Center, the space was generously offered to us by St. Paul Lutheran Church. This space was artful, accessible, warm and creative. Like larger social experiments where collectives have free reign to create, projects zipped in and out, ideas flourished and plans were encouraged to fruition.

From prisoner letter writing nights, to documentary screenings, to food prep, to the hundreds of care packages sent out from on site, to reportbacks, to workshops, to skillshares, to group meetings, to open mics, to radical caroling practice, and of course, the launching of relief teams doing disaster mutual aid to Puerto Rico, Immokalee, the Keys, Apopka, Jacksonville, and even refugee solidarity work in Belgium and France. We used those four walls to break down other walls and it worked. The space was opened for houseless friends to shower, do laundry and even for a houseless couple to have a romantic anniversary dinner.

We shared the space with Tampa Food Not Bombs, Love Has No Borders, Tampa Bay DSA, Restorative Justice Coalition, Black Lives Matter Tampa, Tampa Anarchist Black Cross and other liberatory movements. The space held a free clinic, a free library, a children’s playroom, a community kitchen, and an open space for people to share art and literature. The walls held revolutionary Zapatista quotes, portrait-stories, other messages of support and solidarity, and photos in memory of Andrew Joseph III, Meg Perry and Alonso Guillen – people we have lost along the way. The clinic treated emotional and physical trauma, provided acupuncture, reiki, massage, herbal teas and tinctures, diabetes care, treated dehydration and launched many, many mobile clinics.

Hakim Bey, the originator of the term temporary autonomous zone says they are “like an uprising which does not engage directly with the state, a guerrilla operation which liberates an area (of land, of time, of imagination) and then dissolves itself, to re-form elsewhere/elsewhen, before the state can crush it.” The goal of these zones is not permanence or confrontation, and its lapse is not defeat, but a seed planted that will be carried to another time and place to be recreated again.

The aim is to spread these autonomous zones far and wide, so that everywhere and every-when, not just in disasters, people share goods and services freely, connect deeply and authentically with one another, have agency, self-determination and meaning in their chosen work, live in the moment, and are free to imagine with minds, but also with hands and feet, the better world we know is possible. These moments, when our bodies are sung electric by the possibilities taking wing inside and all around us, need not be fleeting. Most of human history has been spent in communities whose foundation was mutual aid, and our future can be likewise if we have the strength and courage to follow our vision through to where it leads.

Another example of temporary autonomous zones are the 12 Centros de Apoyo Mutuo (CAMs) located throughout Puerto Rico. These constitute an intricate web of people-powered, locally rooted recovery efforts that are proving revolutionary self-governance is not a utopian dream, but can actually be a natural response to the absence of authoritarian, statist means of control. We are currently raising funds to get the CAM in Caguas its own micro-grid solar photovoltaic system – an autonomous alternative to the bankrupt and perhaps, soon to be privatized, Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority. You can donate to this project here.

Some of us are still in Puerto Rico assisting with projects whenever and wherever we are needed and plan to continue doing so for the forseeable future. Some of us are busy preparing for a multi-state tour. And look forward to seeing many of you in person over the coming weeks and months and strategizing on how to build the movement for mutual aid together. To check out locations, visit our website. If we aren’t making it to your town yet, we apologize and thank you in advance for your patience. We have had far too many requests to meet them all at once, but we will continue booking spots for the Fall.

Dandelions lose their minds in the wind, and spread their seeds in a thousand directions. We are a result of one of those seeds. And we know that every end is a beginning. Wherever you go, may you carry a piece of a liberated zone with you. Wherever you stand, may you be the heart and soul of that place.

Until next time,

2018-02-04T12:25:06+00:00February 4th, 2018|Updates|